Power Rangers: Coated in Style

Thanks to my BAMF friend of mine, Gardner, I was able to see a could-be-fine-but-could-suck-really-hard movie, Power Rangers. In my family, we each had a show or property that encapsulated themselves into our childhood. My youngest brother had Blues Clues, my oldest had “Dora”, and I had “Scooby Doo”. But my twin brother, he had Power Rangers. I remember cool looking action scenes where these metal teenagers were fighting weird creatures and feeling sort of indifferent. And when it was announced that there was going to be a Power Ranger movie a year or two back, it really made me cringe. Now, seeing the final product, I’m pretty okay with it.

“Power Rangers” was directed by Dean Israelite and written by John Gatins, and stars Naomi Scott, Dacre Montgomery, RJ Cyler, Ludi Lin, Becky G, Bryan Cranston, and Elizabeth Banks. I imagine that putting together five characters that each have their own personalities can be a challenge. But I got to say it was done pretty well. What this film does is allow more scenes of character building rather than action, creating a pretty balanced final project. I can actually say that I know each character’s motivations, including the villain’s, which is huge relief. It was written, acted, and produced well. Good stuff.

Light Spoilers Ahead!

I realized that this movie was going to be way different than what I was afraid it might be like (Fan4stic) at around the 8 minute mark. The main character, Jason, was racing away from the cops in his truck. From the moment he climbs in, the camera is placed behind the front seat and starts to spin as Jason turns to glance at the cops. Then, the camera continues to spin as Jason turns back to reveal he’s about to crash into something. It keeps doing this in circular motion and I thought it was really, really cool. Not only does this camera movement actually has motivation, it tells the story completely as the character sees it. This was a huge surprise, and the film keeps it up. This creativity is something I had always hoped would make it to a blockbuster such as Power Rangers, rather than in serious dramas. I think this choice to do a superhero differently is completely intentional. I think (don’t know forsure) that when the conception of the project, they set out to make something completely different from today’s superhero genre and embrace the material and make the movie as complete as possible because it could be the only one made. I really applaud this mindset by the filmmakers because it really made the movie feel more focused on it’s heroes and their stories, rather than future events…(the whole DCCU).

That being said, I do have a few issues with the film. Like the title suggests, the film is so coated in style that it sometimes weighed the movie down for me. The one the bothered me the most that almost pulled me out of the movie each time was the overuse of either a musical score or a song to make it more energetic. It was really bothersome and annoyed the hell out of me, especially during an emotional sequences that I thought would have had hit harder if it was just silence or no extra audio. It’s a problem that brings down the movie, but it was used so awesomely when they put the theme song ughhhhhh yassss. There’s some other problems, but they’re minor and small, so I’ll just list them out with a brief explanation.

  • Elizabeth Bank’s Villain – not bad, but not great, so
  • Krispy Kreme – we get it, it’s funny that one of the key locations happens to be at a Krispy Kreme, but it should had been a small joke and not as drawn out as it was
  • Editing – I could have had been more emotionally effected if some moments lingered, rather than keeping a pace, which pacing was quite well done, but still

So, truth be told, I would recommend you checking out this movie. It’s everything a blockbuster tries to do, but this actually accomplishes it most of the time. Power Rangers gets a solid 6/10. Totally re-watchable.

Thank you guys so much for reading this review! Feel free to check out my other reviews and projects on my site. Also quickly press that like button and share if you want, and comment if you have anything to add or say.

Have a great week guys!

-Jake Enemark

Leave a Reply

